Daily Song Challenge: Days 13, 14, and 15

…..and welcome back! I really do hope you all have been enjoying this series, and would love to hear from you all on songs that you would apply to all of these categories! Please feel free to share. There are few things I enjoy more than discovering new music!

days131415

Day 13: A song that is a guilty pleasure

I knew when I posted the last entry that the next song title on my list would have to be a “guilty pleasure” and I’ve been spending quite a bit of free time over the last few days trying to figure out if I had a guilty pleasure. I am of the opinion that if you love a song, you should love it, and not feel bad for doing so, so the concept of a “guilty pleasure” bothers me. The whole idea that you love this one thing, while the rest of the world hates it and thus you’re left feeling bad about it is troublesome. So. Guilty pleasure? I personally don’t have one. I love a song the rest of the world appears to hate, but I don’t feel bad about it. Starship’s “We Built This City” was a song I grew up with, and the idea that a city had been built on rock and roll was a source of inspiration. Can you imagine? A city where rock and roll is church. Where the culture is built around rock and roll. I wanna live in that city. I’m not going to post the video proper, as most of the world is well familiar with the song. Instead, I’m sharing the Rock of Ages clip that uses it. When I first watched Rock of Ages and saw this clip, I about died. I LOVE THIS SEQUENCE. So much. Fight me, I dare you. (Ok. Don’t. I’m a terrible fighter.)

Day 14: A song no one would expect you to love

So….y’know that song, “Shake it off” by Taylor Swift? I really like that song. When done by Screaming Females.

True story: I don’t listen to a lot of radio. Mainly because I’m a pedestrian and public transit user 99% of the time, so I don’t listen to music in a car, which is where most people still listen to radio. So when Swift came out with “Shake it off” it never crossed my radar. But I’d been following the AV Club’s Undercover series on youtube and the premise of it is so fantastic. They have a list of songs, they invite bands into their space, and the bands choose a song and it’s crossed off the list forever more. The results are spectacular. G.W.A.R. covering Kansas’ “Wayward Son.They Might Be Giants covers Destiny’s Child classic “Bills, Bills, Bills.” Iron and Wine covering G.W.A.R. 

There are so many rad covers.

Including this one. Which if I had the option of paying money for, oh would I. And I’d probably listen to it every day. Because I’m sorry Swift, but this song was made for Marissa Paternoster’s vocals. When I finally did hear the real song, there was a very odd sense of deja vu and the song is great….but Screaming Females did it best.

 

Day 15: A song that describes you

Out of all my favorite songs, each which I love for very personal reasons, what song describes this being that is “me”? What a peculiar question. But I have an answer. And I’m going to share it and the runner up.

The first song is obvious. Look at the title of this blog. “When She Speaks I Hear the Revolution.” Sound familiar? It should. I have long been inspired by the riot grrrl movement and the song “Rebel Girl” by Bikini Kill is a song that inspires me still. It’s defiant. It’s celebratory. It’s punk rock at its finest. It’s a reminder that we are revolutionary creatures. It’s a reminder to be confident and be yourself.

The runner up is a song that I have a deep attachment to. Much like “Rebel Girl” it’s an inspiring song, one that I use as a reminder as I go through the world. “Be Brave” by My Brightest Diamond is deeply personal as a reminder of just that. Be brave. Yes, it’s scary. But it’s a beautiful thing.

The lyrics:

I am a bird in water, a whale on sand
I am the flood, the fire, the oil spill
I’m feeling scared and I am overwhelmed
And so I don my mask and finger bells

Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara now get to work
Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara this is going to hurt
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone, undone

I am a slave, I’m under house arrest
I am the beater, I am beaten for less
Than being punk and feeling anger swell
And so I don my beaded dress and finger bells

Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara now get to work
Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara this is going to hurt
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone, undone

It’s so hard, it’s so heavy
To be hungry, to be happy
It’s so light, it’s so easy just to be

It’s so hard, it’s so heavy
To be hungry, to be happy
It’s so light, it’s so easy just to be

Oh God, what would you do with me
Oh God, what’s my responsibility
God, what would you do with me
Oh God, what’s my responsibility

Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara now get to work
Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Sh-Shara this is going to hurt
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone
Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone

Be brave dear one
Be changed or be undone
Be brave dear one
Be changed, be changed, be changed
Changed

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

