Day 2: Least Favorite Song

When it comes to the subject of least favorite songs, I try not to hate on things too much. The world that we live in has far too much music to hate on one specific song, so why do it? I suppose it also helps that I don’t listen to a ton of radio so I don’t hear the same song over and over.

But I definitely have least favorite songs. And some I’ve grown out of. I’m not going to go out of my way to listen to Nickelback, for example, but the hate on them is so universal that it’s almost a cop out. Why add to that? If you love the songs I (or anyone) dislike, Good! Music is for everybody and everybody has different tastes.

Anyway. For this entry, I’m not posting a video. It’s a least favorite song so I’m not encouraging the traffic to listen if I can help it.

I was in high school when Puddle of Mudd became popular. By then my music tastes had grown pretty eclectic. I listened to No Doubt, Cake, Sheryl Crow, HIM, and quite a few artists in between. I grew up and good ol’ rock and roll like AC/DC and Queen and loved them and still do.

Enter Puddle of Mudd. I don’t think I liked anything by them. Ever. Could my hatred be attributed to Wes Scantlin’s voice? It’s kind of whiny, and on a song like “She Hates Me” the whining seemed exacerbated. Was it because I didn’t care how they treated the women in the lyrics and in the videos? I certainly remember not being impressed by that. It also could have been in part because I was one of those good kids who didn’t really develop an enjoyment of swear words till much later. Though even with that said, Meredith Brooks “Bitch” was a favorite song. So it could have been any of these reasons. Really, probably all of them in small doses.  I’ve listened to “She Hates Me” twice in order to write this entry so I could remind myself of why it is one of my least favorites. And it holds true still. I could go my whole life without hearing Puddle of Mudd ever again and be quite happy about it.

Anyway. Now that I’ve tormented myself for this blog post, I’m going to go listen to something that makes me happy now. Maybe some Regina Spektor will help balance out the bad taste left behind….

 

 

30 Day Song Challenge. Day #1

Sometimes, the best thing to do to get you into daily habits are month-long challenges. Since today is the first day of September, it seems like a perfectly admirable place to start. So for the next thirty days, I’ll do my best to post here….most days. Life does happen. So some of the days might get put together in one entry. But anyway. Let’s do this!

Here’s the challenge as found on Pinterest which directs to this page which was originally posted in 2011:

30day song challenge

Day 1: Your Favorite Song.

Favorite songs are hard. The truth is, when it comes to music I get excited about new music as much as I get excited about hearing my favorite songs in unexpected places. I also don’t listen to the radio much. My main source of music is through spotify and the music I own. Let’s see. I’m going to think out loud for a moment.

Favorite song like I sing out loud as soon as I hear it? I have quite a few of those. Favorite song as in timeless? Again, there are a few of those. I’ve been around the block a while and with so many years of music discovery behind me and yet to come, there’s gotta be some timeless tunes among them.

Favorite Song. A song I could listen to on repeat? That happens pretty frequently too. Not sure that would make a song special. Joan Jett’s “I Love Rock and Roll” is definitely a favorite. As is “Rebel Girl” by Bikini Kill. Those tracks stand pretty high up on my all time faves list. But The Favorite song? That gives one track an awful lot of power. (Seriously, how do people answer this question?)

Okay. I’m gonna go with a song I don’t listen to often, but it’s definitely one of those songs that reminds me of another place and time. The song is called “Habit” and it’s by the band Jump Little Children. The first time I heard this track I was struck by the way it seemed like had freewritten lyrics, and how wonderfully the music matched up to it. I related to it, and felt like the world around me could easily relate. The song struck me back then and even now–when I’m making general purpose playlists–I can’t help myself. This song tends to be on most of my general playlists. No matter how much time passes, the story in this song is universal. We’re all searching for something. We all have habits that we know we should quit, but can’t help it.