Cheers to 2015!

I don’t know about ya’ll, but thank the gods 2014 is over.

Musically, 2014 was awesome. I’m still listening to White Lung, the Coathangers, and Tacocat on heavy rotation. Sleater-Kinney has reunited, the Muffs are performing, and L7 has teased the possibility of a reunion. Whaaaa….?

In terms of the day -to-day: 2014 has been taxing at best. Like any year, there have been a lot of great moments. A feminist drinking party, a book club with amazing people, evenings beyond compare at the When She Speaks I Hear the Revolution open mics. Oh yeah: and I made a trip to the Rock and Roll Camp for Girls-PDX happen. It’s unquestionably one of the BEST organizations to volunteer for.

But in terms of goals and accomplishments…there haven’t been a lot. So this year, despite the fact that everyone knows that resolutions are tough to stick, I’m going to try to make some. Things I want to see in 2015 include more content here on this page, a commitment to keeping the events tab here up to date so those of ya’ll in Salt Lake have an easy resource for rad events to keep you excited about this incredible community. In addition to creating more content here, I’d like to make some more real world events happen. Features at When She Speaks from the creative community, more feminist-inspired get-togethers, record night parties, and more events designed to highlight the women musicians in the Salt Lake community.

A few of the places you can follow me on the internets:

Twitter

Tumblr

and Facebook. There’s also a group page for When She Speaks where you can talk feminism, grrrl-fueled music, and talk with other like minded peeps. You can find us here.

Anyway–Welcome to a new year. The best way to deal with a new year is similar to the best way to deal with a new day: make it the best. Enough from me. Here’s to a great new year featuring awesome new music and music discoveries, events, and wonderful people. Please feel free to get in touch with me rebelgrrrl.theblog at gmail[dot]com or via any of the aforementioned sites.

(I’m including this video because the 2014 My Brightest Diamond release was one of my favorites of the year. And seeing Shara Worden live was inspirational. And any opportunity I have, I will share the MBD love.) 

 

Leave a Reply

