She’s BADASS: A Small Collection of Women That Rock

One of the benefits of writing Monday’s post about how women in rock tend to be invisible, especially in mainstream media, was that I remembered why I initially started this blog in the first place. This blog was intended to be a resource where bands under the radar from all different genres–from quirky alt/pop to metal to acoustic–could be highlighted. It was intended to be part of the conversation about how women’s presence in music is a hell of a lot more than a cute sidekick. And I’m happy to say that I’m back. In the past few weeks I’ve been listening to a lot of music and I’m so excited to bring you more awesome bands/musicians that you may or might not know! I’m also looking forward to bringing you some of SLC’s best bands. It took a while, but suddenly the SLC music scene is huge and exciting and standing right in front of me. And I am so proud to be part of this kickass community. Just wait. If you don’t know what the SLC scene holds in store for you…you’re in for a surprise.

I also created another 8tracks mix for your listening pleasure. I will add the disclaimer that it’s pretty heavy on the metal/rock side. If you’re not interested in the heavier genres, this might not be your favorite mix ever. But if you’re a fan of metal/hard rock, then do feel free to check this out. It’s by no means comprehensive. It doesn’t even scratch the surface. I may actually have to make this a series.

SHE’S BADASS: Playlist on 8tracks

(Artists included on this mix include My Ruin, Otep, Melissa Auf Der Maur, Kittie, 7 Year Bitch and a few others. Check it out!)

I apologize for not embedding the mix onto this page–I actually haven’t been able to figure out how to make it work (tragic, right?!?). I personally love women in hard rock/heavy metal. I think metal is one of those genres that boys still try to hold onto pretty tightly. Arguments like “boys will be boys” and “far too aggressive for women” are thrown all over the place, but the fact is, women are just as there as the guys. The beauty of metal is found in the direct hard-hitting power, and the idea of only men being powerful is not only ludicrous, it is wrong.

Happy Weekend.

 

One thought on “She’s BADASS: A Small Collection of Women That Rock

  1. Lis Leaves July 7, 2011 / 6:48 pm

    Nice song selection!It has been a while since my favorite bands get together in just one place!!!You have such a nice blog.I just can’t stop reading it!!It males me proud to be a ROCKER!!!I’m hoping again!

Leave a Reply

