Our Time is Running Out: An End-of-the-World Playlist

Who knew an impending apocalypse could be so much fun? Thanks to billboards guaranteeing that Saturday, May 21 will be the big day, aka the Rapture, the end of the world has been in the air. Parties for the weekend of May 20th have been extra big (featuring drink specials such as Piper Down‘s End of the World shot! Careful, it could be the last one you drink!) and post-rapture parties have been planned, organizations that plan to take care of the pets of to-be-raptured folk have reminded the world of their existence, and the song “It’s the End of the World as We Know It” has been the theme song of the weekend.

Well, with all this talk of the end-of-the-world I decided that a playlist had to be created. I think if the world were to end for real, I’d like to be outside hanging out with a beer and some music (preferably, the last song I’d like to hear would be PJ Harvey’s cover of “Is That All There Is?”, as it is absolutely PERFECT for such an occasion).

Here is my playlist. Do give it a listen and leave some feedback! And if you have suggestions for future playlists as made by me, let me know! I’m all for a challenge!

Happy Listening! You’ll have to go to the 8tracks page for now, as I have yet to work out the “how” on embedding the playlist here on wordpress, but I promise it’ll be worth it! I’ll even leave you with a music video.

OUR TIME IS RUNNING OUT!

PS: The Robert Frost Poem starts off with the lines ” Some say the world will end in fire,/Some say in ice.” –my parting question to you dear reader is how do you think the world would end? Or, alternatively, if you could have a say in the way the world would end, how would you have it end? It’s an apocalyptic creative exercise for all to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

