Lilith Fair? bah. humbug.

I know what my problem is.

Well. Before I go into that I’m going to say it’s not just my problem. It’s a problem on my side and on the side of Lilith Fair.

My problem: my music tastes are just to rock and roll. My tastes aren’t easily suited toward singer/songwriter material (you’ve gotta REALLY prove yourself to stand out in my mind). My tastes are geared toward the rock and roll stars who say “Fuck you world, I’m doing my own thing and I’m gonna do it in ways that are badass and you’re gonna regret fucking with me.”

Lilith Fair…doesn’t. I mean—it’s not completely void of attitude. The Gossip is on tour, and they used to really fit the rock ‘n’ roll attitude that gets me so high. Their new sound is a bit too pop, honestly. Not for me.

So I’ve decided I no longer care about Lilith Fair. I appreciate what they’re doing, but the way this year’s tour has been a mess of “here’s some information, now wait for more; oh here’s more, but that’s not all! You’ll have to wait for the rest” and so on has annoyed the crap out of me. The fair and its corporate sponsor of CBS have tapped so many musicians that an ideal lineup is impossible.

Especially if you’re me.

I give up on Lilith Fair. If I had the money, I’d book my tix to  the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival. At least they know what they’re doing and you’ll see everyone on the scheduled list. (By the way…what’s up with the Butchies being on the performance list? Umm…) (there are other problems with MichFest, but that’s a topic for another time.)

But really, what I really need?

I need a fucking LadyFest. I need a women’s music festival with edge. I need a women’s festival that features women who kick ass and take names. Angry women. Think: Skin, from Skunk Anansie. Think: Lita Ford. Think: Angela Gossow from Arch Enemy. Think: Otep.

I have a feeling I’ll be waiting a while for this.

Oh, and while I’m in wishful thinking mode: I need a music festival that’s DIY based. Where the enthusiasm isn’t in the “OH, some big festival is organizing this festival and it’s hitting my area! Yes!”

Screw that. I want music-ly inclined people throughout the US to come together. Share names. What bands are in your area that are cool/doing something edgy/something interesting and just aren’t all that well known? What about similar bands in Phoenix? Atlanta? Some small town in the outskirts of Denver?

What kind of contacts can we create with local music venues? how can we showcase the people who aren’t getting the attention they deserve?

I think the idea of a “make-your-own-music-festival” would be awesome. I think that’s what Ladyfest is. And that’s why I need it. But here’s a thought: the makers of local ladyfests should not stop at the creation and execution of their own ladyfests. There needs to be sharing of information from one city to another. That way artists don’t have to be stuck in their respective city. Doors can open for them in other cities and other states.

Is it too much to ask for a musical revolution? An emphasis on the real underground spirit and DIY ethic?

Maybe. But I’m still asking. And in serious thoughts: where’s the nearest LadyFest near Salt Lake City? I doubt we’d have time to organize one here—I don’t have the contacts yet, let alone bands that’d be interested—so I may have to look somewhere else.

And on a final note: I think a queer music festival of the same nature would be kick-ass. Anyone wanna help me make this happen? Let’s talk. For real.

Thanks for listening to me rant. I apologize for the rawness of the entry. But Lilith Fair has been bothering me for a while.

PS: Interested in Lady Fest  ’10? There are some meetings going on for sure in the UK. Check out the LadyFest ’10 website. After this is published, that’s what I’ll be doing.

6 thoughts on “Lilith Fair? bah. humbug.

  1. niki April 14, 2010 / 2:00 am

    maybe me + the dead weather can change that for you. bring your guitar! =)

  2. Jukebox Heroine April 14, 2010 / 11:33 am

    Word. I think what Lilith is doing is awesome, but it’s not really my kind of music. The Go-God and Bangles are on the list, but they are not coming to my city. I have my music in the running for their Our Stage artist, so maybe if I make it, we’ll get some loud, angry music in!!

  3. Jamie April 14, 2010 / 4:37 pm

    Grrrl, you are not alone. I’ve always found Lilith Fair to be a big disappointment, especially how shamelessly corporate it is! I’ve never been able to get to a Ladyfest either, or anything like Homo A-Gogo. And I too would be so into organizing something locally, but I feel like I wouldn’t have much support, and I’ve yet to hear a single decent or girl band in this town. (This is especially crushing as I am from NYC, where there is a grrrl hardcore revolution raging as we speak.)

    Speaking of that revolution though: have you heard about http://www.myspace.com/thebig_shebang? It’s organized by For the Birds (their website is http://www.forthebirdscollective.org/). They’re starting out small, sure, but I was there last year and trust me, THAT is something worth taking on the road.

  4. prettyinblack May 18, 2011 / 8:55 pm

    Thank you! Lillith fair is great in theory, but terrible in practice. It totally disregarded the idea that women actually want to ya know, ROCK. Womens’ music isn’t just singer/songwriter stuff or a fiery woman sitting at a piano. Some of us ladies like to windmill, headbang, mosh, and throw the horns and just rock the fuck out.

Leave a Reply

