On the Relevance of Indie Record Stores and New Year Resolutions:

It’s hard to believe, but I’ve been living in Utah for over a year now. A year and some extra months. And as much as I love music, I have somehow managed to miss the most Essential Part of the local music scene. The record store.

For the whole time I’ve been here, I’ve been shopping profusely at the corporate giant F.Y.E., which is the equivalent of the evil Music Town in the movie Empire Records. I shopped there mainly for the Used selection, mainly because it’s pretty comprehensive and the stuff I like tends to be pretty cheap because (guess why. seriously, guess… give up? Oh, okaaaay then. I’ll tell you.)  my music is way against the mainstream.  There’s a definite process to the pricing of used CDs, and generally, this works to my advantage.

So a few weeks ago, I discovered that there’s a music store at the mall that I didn’t think had *any* entertainment stores beyond Deseret Books–one of the Mormon bookstore chains in Utah.  But then I found it.

Gray Whale Music.

My indie record store dreams have once more been realized. When I first visited, I had no money, so couldn’t buy anything. I went back today and went on a massive shopping trip. I didn’t mean to. I walked around the store with just one CD that would’ve costed me only $4, but then I found stuff by the Gathering. And then I found out that Tracy Chapman has a new CD out. And then I found out that one of the CD sections had a good selection of grrrl-infused music. So I went crazy. My purchases are as follows:

Sahara Hotnights: Jennie-Bomb (new for me)
Lunachicks: Jerk of All Trades (new for me)
L7: Hungry for Stink (new for me)
The Gathering: Mandylion (Not new, but Awesome. and I’m happy to have added it to my collection)
The Gathering: In Motion DVD (What’s better than listening to the Gathering? Oh, I know! Watching them live! It really is a shame that I missed seeing them as a band. They’ve since broken up)

Anyway. Enough of the shopping list.
On we go to New Year Resolutions.
2008 is practically over. One more day, and it’s over! Where’d it go? and for that matter, *how* did it go? Was it a good year? Bad year? Mediocre year?
I don’t know about you, but for me it was a pretty good year. Sure, it has been far from perfect, but there have been a lot of things that I’ve done this year that I plan on continuing next year.
Such as writing. Thanks to the NaNoWriMo adventure, I’m addicted to reading, and am also finding a weird joy in editing others. Maybe it’s the inherent realization that comes with some editing that makes me realize, “Hey, I’m not that bad!” It’s actually a lot more than that. It’s great to read unpublished works because you can see what goes into a book. Books from stores seem perfect as is, but with writing groups, it’s an amazing opportunity to learn the process that is writing in a direct manner.
So 2009, I hope, will be a continuation of this year.
More Writing.
More Blogging (at least once a week.) I plan on starting with a piece mentioning Stephenie Meyer, so watch out for that. Twilight fans, look out.
Get Published. I’ve got the ideas. I can write. I have ideas for *where* to publish. All I need to do is put all of them together. By the end of 2009, we should be able to expect my name to have appeared in Bitch and Bust and maybe even Venus Zine. I’d like that.
Writing about Music. I love writing. I love music. So 2009 must be about learning to combine the two. Between reading about music, listening to massive amounts of the stuff, I’m gonna start writing about it too. 2009 will feature a band/album a week, if I can keep the resolution. And I think I may start this ‘writing about music’ thing tomorrow…with my pick for best album of 2008.
And that’s all for now. I’m sure there are plenty more…but I think that’s a good list.
What are yours? 🙂
Leave a Reply

