What Would Happen…?

As much as I’ve loved Meredith Brooks-I only recently saw the music video for her way-too-sexy-to-be-legal song “What Would Happen” and is the video ever appropriate. it makes me happy. so here’s the song/video for your viewing pleasure:

Now, one more thing. Seeing as how multiple blogs are celebrating their favorite things of 2007, I figured I’d put in my two cents. However, I have to add that some of these won’t be new as of the year 2007–but they will have been new to me! and that is what counts. So with no further ado…here are some of my favorite things of 2007:

*The used section at FYE-it’s enabled me to get so many good CDs from the 90s and for good prices. Imagine: $15 for 4 CDs. really-this is NICE. So thank you FYE for your awesome used selection and thank you you crazy people who give up classics like Paula Cole, Heather Nova, the Cranberries….(the list goes on)

*MY RUIN. My latest musical discovery-they’ve been around a while & in fact the first My Ruin album (Speak & Destroy) was a solo effort by Tairrie B – then she met the rest of the band and My Ruin turned from solo effort to a band effort. Any album you get you’re bound to be blown away. My first CD by them was their 2003 album-The Horror of Beauty. I was blown away. I had to have everything. so I bought it all. and Speak & Destroy I just heard for the first time two days ago and the very first song blew me the hell away. THIS is what music is, folks. It’s raw, it’s passionate, it’s a call to action. It’s really not just about the beat, it’s about something that inspires passion.

*Zines-So just this year I’ve discovered some pretty awesome zines and they are some of the most awesome things I’ve come across. Each zine is its own unique work of art. the people behind zines put so much of their creative effort into the making/designing/writing of each issue and then send it out to share with the lucky people who have discovered them. My favorite zines right now are Danger!Hole Zine, Pulse & She’s So Very… The zines differ in content…while D!HZ & Pulse deal a lot more with feminism related issues, She’s So Very… is a much more personal journey by the writer-and needless to say she is prolific, making reading it a pleasure and a journey of its own! So anyone who doesn’t wait anxiously for the mail should give these zinesters a shot (and look for more!)

*French pop/rock- yes, I’m serious. I may not understand all of their lyrics, but they have enough songs that are in English and enough cool videos that I almost don’t need the lyrics. my two faves: Superbus (a band with a female lead singer who I’m pretty sure is bi…unfortunately there’s the language barrier and the lack of a English-speaking website, so I cannot be sure..but come on, in “Let Me Hold You” she’s singing to a girl and the words go as such “Let me hold you/let me touch you/please make up your mind/let me hold you/let me touch you/I know I’m not a guy”!!!! So anyway, Superbus is pretty awesome. Plus they know how to make manygood video The other: The Plastiscines. They’re like the French equivalent of the Donnas. and they’re equally good and equally fun! so check ’em out if you haven’t already…maybe you’ll love ’em too ❤

*Tegan & Sara-The Con: easily the best new album of my collection. It’s beautiful both musically & lyrically. it’s still mind-blowing to me that Robert Christgau (a well known rock critic) said of the album: “Tegan and Sara don’t have men to lash out at, put up with or gripe about. This may be why their uncommonly detailed love songs are so short on drama…” Short on drama, Mr. Christgau? Did you really listen to the lyrics? Or did you file it under ‘lesbian music’ and not really listen to it at all? There’s drama a plenty…though none of it quite as dramatic as Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats.”

Since I’ve taken the liberty of writing novel accompaniments with my favorite things, I’ll end this list here. but don’t be too surprised if there ends up being a part two.

Leave a Reply

