bad news/good news: a NaNoWriMo update

So, yesterday was the middle of November and I can already say that it’s been (and will continue to be) a very interesting month–full of good and bad. and since everyone likes bad news first, here’s mine.

I’m way behind. like, from the end of month goal I’ve managed to get a little less than 10,000 words in 15 days. which means I have to write 40,000 in the same time it took me to write 10,000. I’ve figured out that that means I have to write at least 3,000 a day-which is 10 pages written since I can fit about 300 words a page. (yes, I’m handwriting the story, but putting it on the computer when I have the chance. I’m weird, I know.) I figured this out yesterday, but failed miserably at my 3,000 count goal…I was only about halfway there w/ my 1,094 word count. so today I’m going to try (I repeat, try) to make up the day’s goal–3,000 plus meet the 1,066 words that I didn’t write yesterday.

A daunting task, to say the least.

Now on to the good news.

I have 9, 271 words of a potential novel! Holy crap, that’s a lot. about 16 pages on the computer. Want to know a secret? This is the first big writing project I’ve undertaken since….let’s see….high school, when I published a segment of a longer story in each issue (chapter one in one issue, chapter two in another…and so on.) I’ve been pretty slack in my  fiction writing since then, so you can imagine that what I have accomplished so far is pretty damn impressive.

So I’m excited about what I’ve got and what I hope to do. While I have my doubts that I’ll reach 50,000 words, that doesn’t mean I’m ready to give up. ‘cuz I’m not. I’m gonna push as hard as I can to get as many words as possible, even if it’s not 50k. So wish me luck. I’m gonna need it.

p.s. One odd thing that this whole project has inspired (plus my frequent forays to the riot grrrl forum) a mixtape project, tentatively titled “Love, Lust & Rock ‘n Roll.” I wish I didn’t have to spend all my time writing, so I could make this tape. 🙂

ok. I must write. I’ve got a lot of words to write, and little time to do it in.

Leave a Reply

