Skip to content
December 20, 2007 / riotgrrrlrevolution

Feminist christmas carol

Wow! Two posts in one day! something crazy must be going on…the world…is it about to end? I dunno. Hope not, though. it’s been an alright world so far.

So here’s the deal. recently I came across the way-too-awesome-for-words video by Twisted Sister for Heavy Metal Christmas. Essentially it’s like the traditional christmas carol 12 days of christmas only in heavy metal style and with heavy metal related gifts (tatoos of ozzy, studded belts, cans of hairspray, leather jackets, tattered t-shirts…you get the drill.)

well. after trying to memorize the song (which was easier to do than with the original 12 days of christmas. that song *still* eludes me), I came up with a brilliant idea.

If Twisted Sister could make a song based off of that…why anyone can! Including us crazy feminists.

so, with no further ado, I present to you the feminist friendly remake of 12 days of christmas.

ON MY FIRST FEMINIST CHRISTMAS: A FEMINIST CHRISTMAS CAROL

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: a subscription tooo Ms. magazineMs.

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: two tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription to Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 4 Wonderwoman posters
3 gloria steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dollllllllllllllsVooooooooooooodooo
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: six seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 7 thisiswhatafeministlookslike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 8 vegan chocolate chip cookies
7 ThisIsWhatAFeministLooksLike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 9 rainbow flagsrainbows!
8 vegan chocolate chip cookies
7 ThisIsWhatAFeministLooksLike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 10 rabbit vibrators
9 rainbow flags
8 vegan chocolate chip cookies
7 ThisIsWhatAFeministLooksLike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 11 bottles of Dos Equis
10 rabbit vibrators
9 rainbow flags
8 vegan chocolate chip cookies
7 ThisIsWhatAFeministLooksLike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

On my first feminist christmas my partner gave to me: 12 BITE-ME postcards to send to Cosmo…
11 bottles of Dos Equis
10 rabbit vibrators
9 rainbow flags
8 vegan chocolate chip cookies
7 ThisIsWhatAFeministLooksLike t-shirts
6 seasons of Xena
fiiiiiive GeorgeBush Voodoooooo dolllllllllllllls
4 Wonderwoman poster
3 Gloria Steinem books
2 tickets to see Ani diFranco
and a subscription toooo Ms. Magazine

we really should send these to cosmo.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hayley / Dec 23 2007 10:32 am

    fantastic!

  2. Mae / Oct 21 2008 10:36 am

    Great! I have to share this with my friends!

  3. joyrose / Dec 16 2009 12:48 pm

    Thanks! I love it and will read aloud on my radio show tonight on http://www.NewYorkTalkRadio.net at 7PM EST. You Rock!
    Joy Rose, Media Mom and ‘Don’t Tell Me To Shut Up Radio’

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

