Skip to content
July 6, 2007 / riotgrrrlrevolution

Life without a riot just don’t feel the same.

When Little Miss Sunshine came out, I heard glowing reviews of the film left and right. And I had friends that really, really wanted to see it. But honestly, I’m not one to take anyone’s opinion and believe it. When I finally went and saw the movie with a few friends, I was positively (and happily) stunned.

It was great. Amazing. Funny. Etc. Sometimes it’s hard to gauge when Hot Hot HOT MUSIC.popular culture is actually right about something.

In the past year or so I’ve heard murmurings of a band called Brazilian Girls.  I took a chance and puchased their 2006 CD Talk To La Bomb. I didn’t get a chance to listen to it ’till last night, right before bed.

I popped it in my CD player and got into bed, hoping that maybe I’d be able to fall asleep. I admit it, my logic is faulty sometimes. At any rate, that was at–oh, 9p.m. As soon as the first track started, “Jique”-I was in ecstasy. By the time it got to track number 4, I was laughing. In the song “Never Met a German” one of the lyrics goes thus: “Next thing I knew/was that I was walking in the army/It wasn’t very charming.”

Think Persephone’s Bees but stronger, more danceable and a little more electro. Sabina Sciubba’s vocals remind me a lot of Angelina Moysov’s vocals, but where I find the Bees albums tolerable with nice songs (including the song “City of Love”–featured in This is what made 2006 a good yearBewitched and a commercial some time ago), the Brazilian Girls album grabbed me and refused-flatly-to let me go. Even though I was squarely planted in my room, it seriously felt as if I’d been transported into a whole different world–one relying heavily on strobe lights and dancing. Seriously, this is what the club scene should be about-it works. 

The closest experience I’ve had to this? Lesbians On Ecstasy-a band that has cleverly tweaked old scho0l glbtq folk-type ballads and made them into hot dance tracks. When I discovered LoE a few months ago I was in love, but thoroughly dismayed. Where would I ever find anything like this? Sexy dance music, catchy vocals and just all around amazing.

Clearly, I’ve found my answer.

So who are the Brazilian Girls? Let’s put it this way-they only girl among the band is Sciubba and none of the members are actually from Brazil. Yet, there is certainly a worldliness about the NY based band. Throughout the CD, Sciubba uses French and German lyrics in addition to English–and if you don’t love the accent, I seriously don’t know what’s wrong with you. (Sciubba was born in Italy)

Other band members are Didi Gutman-keyboards and backing vocals, Jesse Murphy-bass and backing vocals and Aaron Johnston-drums and backing vocals.

Talk To La Bomb was recorded in Electric Ladyland Studios. Sound familiar? The studio is famous as Jimi Hendrix’s recording studio. The music on the album is phenomenal-and thoroughly impossible to describe in words. Brazilian Girls defy genres. Sure there’s the electro sound, but there’s also jazz snippets and tunes that make you feel like you’ve known them forever-despite the fact that you may have just (like me) discovered them. It’s an interesting experience, feeling familiar with something totally unfamiliar.

So with all this I shall give those of you who haven’t yet heard of the band the opportunity to check them out…and what better way than w/ a youtube video. Hopefully, you will love them like I do! :-)

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Laura / Jul 19 2007 4:52 am

    I saw ‘Little Miss Sunshine’ with you!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

