Skip to content
June 7, 2007 / riotgrrrlrevolution

quick mini-update

Exciting/not so exciting stuff keeps happening. I have a job now, which is interesting. the job itself isn’t the greatest and it will NOT be a career thing (for one thing, it doesn’t involve writing! I wish the place had a need for PR, I could attempt that, haha.), it keeps me pretty busy.

On the other hand, I’ve had a lot of time to think up blog entries and here’s a warning in advance. I’ve a lot of ideas. At the very least, there will be an ode to Durham, some thoughts on women in metal, and the effects of all-women music festivals. These will come soon. if they don’t and you have myspace, you can send me many an angry message. or bribe me with cookies ;-)

In other happy news, I’m happy to say that little sisters are fun! Remember how I mentioned I have younger sisters? well the youngest, at 9, is happy to know what I know. so today I started a “class” with her and a friend of hers (the 12-year-old joined mid’class’) and I taught them a bit about the Raincoats/The Slits. I may give ‘em homework in the future, haha. I might give a listening quiz….make up a CD for them with stuff we listen to (because we did of course listen to “Typical Girls” by the Slits and “Fairytale in the Supermarket” by the Raincoats) and make ‘em memorize artists and songs.

It’ll be awesome. I sort of scheduled out the classes, but it’s tentative. Here’s what I have so far:

Class 1: The Slits/The Raincoats (obviously, this class is done.)
Class 2: Janis Joplin/Joni Mitchell/Fanny
Class 3: Patti Smith/Blondie/Tina Weymouth (talking heads) (actually this class will be particularly exciting b/c I will have seen Debbie Harry live!!! woohoo!!!)
Class 4: The Runaways/Joan Jett/The Pretenders/Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth
Class 5-The Bangles/B52s/Heart
Class 6-Cyndi Lauper/Madonna
Class 7: Riot Grrrl-Bikini Kill/Bratmobile/Heavens to Betsy
class 8: Hole, Babes in Toyland/L7
class 9: Alanis Morisette, Sarah Mclachlan, Lillith Fair
class 10: Garbage/No Doubt/ Sleater-Kinney
Class 11: Modern pop-Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, Jennifer Lopez, etc.
Class 12: The Gossip, Le Tigre…. (know any other quality pop bands? do help with this one ;-)

actually if anyone has oldschool B-52s/Sonic Youth could you send me some? februarystar02@gmail.com

rock on, loves!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hayley / Jun 9 2007 7:28 am

    aww I wish I had little sisters to teach!

    you could always get them to listen to my radio show it’s on Sundays 6-8pm UK time on http://www.radiogetswild.com and is called Pigtails and Army Boots. It’s strictly female fronted/all female music and I play pretty much of the bands you mentioned in your classes plus more ;)

    anyway enough plugging. still love your blog
    xx

  2. Bec / Jun 11 2007 4:18 am

    Yay! You are such an awesome sister. Other quality poppish bands I know are: Chicks on Speed, Frou Frou, and (solo artists) Imogen Heap, Tori Amos, Bjork, and Julie Ruin (pretty much the same as Le Tigre I guess). And online myspace DIY pop girls Amy Kasio (www.myspace.com/amykasio – she ROCKS) and Ducky (www.myspace.com/molikesducks).

  3. riotgrrrlrevolution / Jun 12 2007 1:31 am

    Funny story that involves an unlikely combination: Chicks on Speed and Beyonce (actually her new video which is 4min or longer). My sisters and I were doing some cleaning, I had a cd on the stereo that included some Chicks on Speed. The tv was on, but was muted. Beyonce’s video comes on. Glamour Girl by COS starts….and this is a little bit into the video…but as soon as the song starts–it’s PERFECT. Worked so well for the video it was uncanny. my sisters and I ended up watching the combination. it was ridiculously scary, how perfect the two worked together. omg.

  4. Lizzie / Jun 12 2007 1:48 am

    I like where you’re going here! Erase Errata would be good for Class 12. Good luck fitting Sleater-Kinney in with Garbage and No Doubt…I suppose you’re trying to keep things chronological.

  5. Mel / Jun 20 2007 9:12 pm

    Great post.

    Mika Miko, Erase Errata, des_ark.

    MT

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

